Best power station for home backup (2026)
Quick answer
For keeping a fridge, router and a few lights going through an overnight outage, a 2 kWh station is a sensible floor; the Bluetti Elite 200 V2 had the lowest price per Wh of the models we confirmed at that size, $0.43 at $899 for 2,073.6 Wh [13]. The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 is about $0.49 per Wh and the lightest per kWh at that size, at 39.5 lb [6]. For multi-day outages or bigger loads, the Jackery HomePower 3000 matched that price per Wh at 3,072 Wh [8]. If you need 240 V output or room to expand a lot, the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 [10] and Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus [11] are the ones to look at.
At a glance
Prices are from each maker's official US store, checked on Oct 28, 2026. They change often.
| Model | Capacity | AC output / surge | Price per Wh | UPS switchover | Expandable | Cycle rating | Weight | Price (checked Oct 28, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max [5] | 2,048 Wh | 2,400 W / 4,800 W | $0.51 | not stated | Yes (to 6kWh) | 3,000 to 80% | 50 lb | $1,049 (sale; list $1,299) |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 [6] | 2,042 Wh | 2,200 W / 4,400 W | $0.49 | <20 ms | No | 4,000 to 70% | 39.5 lb | $999 |
| Bluetti Elite 200 V2 [13] | 2,073.6 Wh | 2,600 W / not stated | $0.43 | 15 ms | No | 6,000 to 80% | 53.4 lb | $899 |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus [7] | 2,048 Wh | 3,000 W / 6,000 W | $0.59 | <10 ms | Yes (2-10kWh) | not stated | 48.7 lb | $1,199 (sale; list $1,599) |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 [8] | 3,072 Wh | 3,600 W / 7,200 W | $0.49 | ~20 ms | N (per page) | 4,000 to 70% | 59.5 lb | $1,499 |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus [9] | 3,072 Wh | 3,600 W / 7,200 W | $0.52 | <10 ms | Yes (to 11kWh) | not stated | 74.3 lb | $1,599 (sale; list $2,199) |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 [10] | 4,096 Wh | 4,000 W / 8,000 W | $0.68 | 10 ms | Yes (to 48kWh) | 4,000 to 80% | 113.5 lb | $2,799 (sale; list $3,299) |
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus [11] | 5,040 Wh | 7,200 W / 14,400 W | $0.69 | <20 ms backup; 0 ms online | Yes (to 60kWh) | 4,000 to 70% | 134.5 lb | $3,499 |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra [12] | 6,144 Wh | 7,200 W / 10,800 W | $0.68 | <20 ms backup; 0 ms online | Yes (to 90kWh) | 3,500 to 80% | 181.8 lb | $4,199 (sale; list $5,799) |
Cycle ratings aren't directly comparable: Jackery rates cycles to 70% of original capacity, while EcoFlow and Bluetti rate to 80%.
Several prices were sale prices on Oct 28, 2026 and may change; value picks are based on these prices.
How we compared
We don't test products in person. These comparisons use each maker's published specifications and the price on its official US store, checked on Oct 28, 2026. Runtime estimates use 85% of rated capacity, the figure Jackery publishes in its own runtime formula [1]. Only models whose specs we could confirm on the maker's official page are included; more will be added as we confirm them. For home backup we weighed capacity, continuous and surge output, how fast the unit switches over in an outage (UPS switchover), whether you can add batteries, cycle rating and price per Wh.
Our picks and why
- Lowest price per Wh at about 2 kWh: Bluetti Elite 200 V2, $0.43 per Wh at $899 for 2,073.6 Wh [13]. The catch: Bluetti doesn't state a surge figure for it, and its page says it isn't expandable.
- Lightest at about 2 kWh: Jackery Explorer 2000 v2, 39.5 lb for 2,042 Wh at about $0.49 per Wh [6]. It isn't expandable either and has only three AC outlets.
- Lowest price per Wh at 3 kWh: Jackery HomePower 3000, $0.49 per Wh at $1,499 [8], with a TT-30 outlet and 3,600 W output. Jackery's page lists it as not expandable.
- Best for adding capacity later: EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 expands to 48 kWh and has 120/240 V outlets including an L14-30R [10]. At 113.5 lb it's not something you carry around.
- Most capacity in one unit: EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra at 6,144 Wh, expandable to 90 kWh, at $4,199 for the smallest configuration sold [12].
How long will it run my fridge?
A full-size ENERGY STAR fridge draws about 132-192 W while its compressor runs [2]. At a constant 150 W, a 2,042 Wh station gives about 11.6 hours and a 3,072 Wh station about 17.4 hours [1]. Real runtime is usually longer because the compressor cycles. Try your own devices in the runtime calculator.
Who should skip each
- Skip the Elite 200 V2 if your loads have big startup surges, since Bluetti doesn't state a surge rating for it [13], or if you want to add batteries later.
- Skip the Explorer 2000 v2 if you want to add batteries later or need more than three AC outlets.
- Skip the HomePower 3000 if you might need more than 3 kWh someday, since it isn't expandable.
- Skip the DELTA Pro 3, 5000 Plus and Pro Ultra if you need to move the unit often or mainly need a fridge and router for one night; they cost more than that job needs.
- Skip the DELTA 2 Max if fast outage switchover matters to you; EcoFlow doesn't state a UPS switchover time for it [5].
FAQ
Can a power station run my whole house? Not a typical one. Even the largest units here are rated 7,200 W continuous. Connecting a power station to your home's wiring is a job for a licensed electrician and may need a permit; check with your local permit office. Never plug a power station into a wall outlet to feed power back into your house ("backfeeding"). It can electrocute utility workers and neighbors and can start a fire.
Can it run a sump pump? A 1/3 hp sump pump draws about 800 W running and 1,300 W starting by Honda's estimate [2], so check both the output and surge ratings, and the pump's own label.
Sources
- Jackery, Explorer 300 product page FAQ: "Working time = 293Wh* 0.85 / operating wattage of your device". https://www.jackery.com/products/explorer-300-portable-power-station
- Honda Power Equipment, Generator Wattage Estimation Guide (refrigerator/freezer ENERGY STAR 132-192 W running, 1,200 W starting; sump pump 1/3 hp 800 W running, 1,300 W starting; generator-maker estimates). https://powerequipment.honda.com/generators/generator-wattage-estimation-guide
- ResMed AirSense 11 user guide (typical 56.1 W, peak 73.2 W). https://document.resmed.com/documents/products/machine/airsense-11/user-guide/airsense11_user-guide_anz_eng.pdf
- TP-Link 2024 idle power information (Archer AX55: 6.5 W idle). https://www.tp-link.com/us/landing/tp-link-sne-energy-information-2024/
- EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://us.ecoflow.com/products/delta-2-max-portable-power-station
- Jackery Explorer 2000 v2, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://www.jackery.com/products/jackery-explorer-2000-v2-portable-power-station
- EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://us.ecoflow.com/products/ecoflow-delta-3-max-plus-portable-power-station-2048wh
- Jackery HomePower 3000, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://www.jackery.com/products/jackery-homepower-3000
- EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra Plus, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://us.ecoflow.com/products/ecoflow-delta-3-ultra-plus-portable-power-station-3072wh
- EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://us.ecoflow.com/products/delta-pro-3-portable-power-station
- Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://www.jackery.com/products/jackery-explorer-5000-plus
- EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://us.ecoflow.com/products/delta-pro-ultra
- Bluetti Elite 200 V2, official US product page (specs and price checked Oct 28, 2026). https://www.bluettipower.com/products/elite-200-v2-portable-power-station